Is Facebook the new homepage?

08Apr09

With the brand shiny new newsfeed on the FB homepage, I’m not only getting status updates and photo downloads from every single one  of my “friends” in real time, but seeing updates from pages I’m a fan of as well as the results from every inane quiz my friends decide to fill their procrastination quota with.

When did Facebook become the nexus of my Internet sphere?

Y Pulse, a timely and frequently updated (THANK you, someone FINALLY got the memo about evolving content) Gen Y marketing site, ran a great commentary on the growth of FB outside its original scope.

This is my life.

This is my life.

The best part about this article is what the changes in FB’s structure implies for the future of internet interaction.  I personally appreciate the attention to the reactions of users in lieu of descriptions of the changes themselves.

As my capstone professor always said, “I don’t care what you know; I want to know what you think.”

One Response to “Is Facebook the new homepage?”

  1. Multitasking is a myth…yeah of course it is… if you’re a man. (Oh snap!)

    Also, that lady in video 1 bores me. “People need to focus” <— hardly a revelation; dare I say it’s bordering on obvious? Everybody knows employees waste time due to umbilical cords that lead straight to the internet and computers that scream “you’ve got mail” every five seconds. But the reality is, information is always changing and in my industry you’ve got to know what’s going on. The world moves fast, and few can keep up.

    Knowing that few can keep up offers as much consolation as a snuggie on a winter’s day. At least I know I’m not going to be the dumb ass in a T-shirt freezing to death.

    But what do I know, I haven’t checked my email in ten minutes…


Leave a Reply

